Skip to main content
IOWave16 Tsunami Exercise in Indonesia

IOWave16 Tsunami Exercise carried out in 24 Indian Ocean countries

Latest developments on

Twenty-four countries have participated in a large scale IOWave16 tsunami simulation exercise on 7 and 8 September 2016: Australia, Bangladesh, Comoros, France (RĂ©union), India, Indonesia, Iran, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mozambique, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Yemen.

Tsunamis’ destructive force presents a great risk for lives and livelihoods in the exposed areas in Asia and the Pacific. In 2004, the world witnessed the devastating Indian Ocean Tsunami that killed over 230,000 people and left up to 5 million people without home or access to food and water.

Considering that tsunamis occur infrequently yet can have tremendous consequences, regular exercises are essential to enhance awareness and preparedness of stakeholder agencies, community organizations and citizens groups to work together to prepare for the evacuation after a tsunami warning is issued by national and local authorities.

During the IOWave16 Indian Ocean Wave Tsunami Exercise, countries tested standard operating procedures of the Indian Ocean Tsunami Warning and Mitigation System including communications links between all stakeholders, as the rapid transmission of messages between authorities and populations at risk is crucial to save lives in the event of a tsunami.

Learn more on the IOWave16 tsunami exercise on

IOWave16 participating countries

Map: ICG/IOTWMS (updated on 1 November 2016)

Disclaimer: The designations employed and material presented do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Secretariat of the United Nations concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area, or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.